Geoff Bewley Memorial Cross Results and Report – Round 9


Jack Humphreys (Wheelbase Altura MGD), Adrian Lawrence (Team Elite) and Becky Preece (Contessa Scott Syncros) took away the Bio-Racer Winners Jerseys and Secret Training Race Day Personal Care Kits at the Geoff Bewley Memorial Cross at Otterspool Park on Saturday. Becky has now won the event 5 years in a row!

In the Senior/Junior race, Jack took the lead within the first 2 laps and took a comfortable win over Giles Drake ( and Martin Woffindin (Cycle Sport Pendle). Ryan Ashcroft (St Helens CRC) led the Juniors in with 6th place overall.

The inform Adrian Lawrence led from lap 1 and comfortably took the win from Mick Style (Manchester Wheelers), who took 2nd after his traditional slow start, Jed Hartley (Horwich CC) completed the podium places.

Becky Preece topped the women’s podium finishing in 20th place overall in the vets and women’s race. Alison Rushton (Ribble Valley Juniors) was 2nd, with league regular Carolyn Speirs (Horwich CC) showing husband Mick how it’s done in 3rd place.

The Youth race came down to a sprint finish on foot between Craig Rogers (Birkenhead North End CC) and Simon Price (Marsh Tracks Race Team). Craig was over the barriers first and held a 10 metre lead over Simon until a slip with 1 corner to go allowed Simon to close up but Craig held on for the win. Lewis Hartley (Velocity WD-40) spent the most of the race with the two leaders, he was distanced with 1 lap to go and held on for 3rd place.

Kim Baptista (Mid Lancs BMX) took 11th place overall for 1st U16 Girl. Rebecca Gregson (Sportcity Velo) and Savannah Morgan (Liverpool Century RC) completed the U16 Girls podium.

Issac Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels) continued his winning form that see’s him currently leading the U14 Boys league standings with a classy win. Tyler Koch (Mossley CRT) took 2nd with George Ball (Furness Future Flyers) in 3rd.

Eve Martin (Ribble Valley Juniors), Maisy Vasic (Eastlands Velo) and Lucy Naylor (Cycle Sport Pendle) raced into the podium postions in the U14 Girls category.

Aidan Lawrence (Eastlands Velo) took the victory this week from Matthew Baptista (Mid Lancs BMX) and Benjamin Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels CC). The promoting club’s Niamha Albones (Liverpool Century RC) took the U12 Girls win from Erin Corrigan (Mossley CRT) and Nancyc Roberts (Salt Ayre Cog Set).

Imogen Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels CC) took the 2nd victory for the family in the U10 girls from Lily Brindle (Preston Pirates BMX Club) and Isabel Koch (Mossley CRT).

Scott Fisher (Furness Future Flyers) took the winnings after a close battle with team mate Benjamin Mashiter. Bryn Lawrence (Eastlands Velo) took another podium position for the family in 3rd place.

Megan Lloyd, Grace Porter (Bolton Hot Wheels CC) and Emma Poulston took top 3 places in the U8 Girls.

Felix Cuerden (Bolton Hot Wheels CC) took the 3rd win of the day for the Bolton Hot Wheels CC from Finn Mortimer and Bolton Hot Wheels CC team mate Ben Warriner.


Without the support of our sponsors, we couldn’t make the race as big as it is. So please check out their products and services and let them know you were at the race!! Bio-Racer, Secret-Training, Conquista, Fit 360 Coaching, Damian Field Architects, Sports Therapy Liverpool, Quinns Bike Centre, Fast Glass Wirral LTD, Standout Driveways, Signature Heating & Bathrooms LTD.